MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF PARK COMMISSIONERS OF THE CARY PARK DISTRICT, CARY, ILLINOIS HELD IN THE COMMUNITY CENTER, 255 BRIARGATE ROAD ON MAY 11, 2023

LCALL TO ORDER

President Renner called the meeting to order at 8:44 PM.

II. ROLL CALL

Upon roll call the following Commissioners answered present: Stanko, Carasso Victor, Renner, and Frangiamore.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited during the preceding Committee of the Whole meeting.

Staff

Staff present: Dan Jones, Executive Director; Becky Horn, Administrative and Recreation Assistant; Vicki Krueger, Director of Finance and Administration

Guests

Jenay and Mike DiOrio

III. MATTERS FROM THE PUBLIC

Jenay DiOrio complimented the Park District on the new Dance program that was developed earlier this year. She shared her children are part of the excellent program and are familiar with the lead member of the program, who does a fantastic job in her role. Jenay reiterated how happy and excited they are for the future of the program!

IV. INSTALLAION OF ELECTED COMMISSIONERS

Keith Frangiamore was asked to come forward, and Jones administered the oath of office. Jones swore Mr. Frangiamore into office until the consolidated election in April 2029.

V. NOMINATIONS/ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Renner asked for nominations for the position of President. Frangiamore nominated Victor for President. Renner asked if there were any more nominations, hearing none, he closed nominations for President.

Renner asked for a motion.

Frangiamore moved to approve Melissa Victor as President for FY2023-24 of the Board of Commissioners. Second by Renner.

Voice vote: Yes -5, No - None. Motion carried.

Renner asked for nominations for the position of Vice President. Carasso nominated Frangiamore for Vice President. Renner asked if there were any more nominations, hearing none, he closed nominations for Vice President.

Renner asked for a motion.

Carasso moved to approve Keith Frangiamore for Vice President for FY2023-24 of the Board of Commissioners. Second by Stanko.

Voice vote: Yes - 5, No – None. Motion carried.

VI. APPOINTMENT OF POSITIONS

Recommendations for appointment of positions by Staff.

Board Secretary: Executive Director

Board Treasurer: Director of Finance & Administration

Board Legal Counsel: Scott Puma, Ancel Glink

Executive Director: Dan Jones

NISRA Board of Directors Representative: Executive Director

President Victor moved to appoint the positions as presented. Second by Renner.

Roll call vote: Yes – Victor, Carasso, Renner, Stanko, and Frangiamore. No – None. Motion carried.

VII. Designation of Depositories

Recommendations of designation of depositories by Staff.

Harris Bank Cary Grove
Home State Bank of Crystal Lake
Cary Bank & Trust, Cary
WinTrust Network of Banks
Office of the Treasurer of the State of Illinois (The Illinois Fund)

President Victor moved to appoint depositories as presented. Second by Stanko.

Voice Vote: Yes – 5. No – None. Motion carried.

VIII. FY2023-24 Annual Meeting Schedule

Staff presented a draft annual meeting schedule for the Board of Commissioners. Committee of the Whole meetings to be held on the second Thursday of each month, and Regular Board meetings to be held on the fourth Thursday of each month. Staff noted three exceptions to the schedule in November (Thanksgiving Holiday), December (Christmas Holiday) and January (IPRA/IAPD Annual State Conference) where the scheduled date for the Regular Board meeting was adjusted to the fifth week of November and the third week of December and January.

President Victor moved to approve the FY2023-24 Annual Meeting Schedule as presented. Second by Carasso.

Voice Vote: Yes -5, No - None. Motion carried.

IX. Liaison Appointments

Staff provided an overview of past liaison appointments. President Victor asked if any Commissioners wished to switch their appointments from the previous year. After discussion, one change was made making President Victor the liaison to the Village of Cary and Renner the liaison to the Village of Fox River Grove.

Village of Cary – President Victor Village of Oakwood Hills – Commissioner Stanko Village of Trout Valley – Commissioner Stanko Village of LITH – Commissioner Frangiamore Village of Fox River Grove – Commissioner Renner Cary Park Foundation – Commissioner Carasso

President Victor moved to approve the Appointment of Positions as discussed. Second by Stanko.

Roll call vote: Yes – Victor, Carasso, Renner, Stanko, and Frangiamore. No – None. Motion carried.

X. Creation of Decennial Committee on Local Government Efficiency

Jones stated this is a new committee required by law to be created by the Board to address the Local Government Efficiency Act. Jones stated the work of the Committee is to develop a report on the Cary Park District operations that is to be submitted to McHenry County no later than November of 2024. Jones stated the members of the Committee required by law are the Board of Commissioners, the Executive Director and two resident members. Jones stated the Committee is required to meet at least three times. Jones stated that both Michael Murphy and Glen Barklow, current members of the Cary Park Foundation Board and residents of the Cary Park District, are willing to serve on this Committee and are being recommended for appointment by staff.

Stanko moved to create a Decennial Committee on Local Government Efficiency which shall have an expiration date of no later than November 11, 2024, or earlier should the work of the Committee be completed prior to this date. Second by Carasso.

Voice Vote: Yes -5, No - None. Motion carried.

Stanko moved to identify the Board of Commissioners and the Executive Director as members of the Committee as required by law. Second by Victor.

Voice Vote: Yes -5, No - None. Motion carried.

Victor moved to appoint Cary Park District residents, Michael Murphy and Glen Barklow to serve on the Committee as the two resident members required by law who shall serve as full participating members of the Committee. Second by Carasso.

Voice Vote: Yes -5, No - None. Motion carried.

XI. ADJOURNMENT

Victor moved to adjourn the Annual Meeting. Second by Stanko.

Voice vote: Yes -5, No - None. Motion carried.

The Annual Meeting adjourned at 9:00 PM.

Daniel C. Jones, Secretary

Park District Board of Commissioners